Soundtrack Review: Continuum Season One Original Television Soundtrack

Music Composed by: Jeff Danna

Release Date: August 6, 2013

Format: Digital Download

Number of Discs: n/a (19 tracks, approx. 43 minutes)

Label: Lakeshore Records


Lakeshore Records will release the CONTINUUM – Original Television Soundtrack Season One digitally on August 6, 2013. The album features the original music, composed by Jeff Danna (Silent Hill: Revelation, The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus), for the first season of the beloved science fiction show.

“I encouraged a partially-orchestral approach to the series,” said Danna. “The world that Simon has created for CONTINUUM is not a small or safe place and calls for music that is as cinematic as Simon’s vision of his characters and stories. The orchestra is the musical-partner for a story like this, and it is a large part of the soundscape of CONTINUUM.”

Born in Canada to a musical family, Jeff Danna has created scores for a long and varied list of films. His credits include such divergent projects as Fracture, The Kid Stays In The Picture, Resident Evil: Apocalypse, The Boondock Saints, Lakeview Terrace, Chicago 10, Silent Hill and Silent Hill: Revelation, The Grey Zone, The Expatriate, and Terry Gilliam’s The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus, and Closing The Ring for director Richard Attenborough.

CONTINUUM Is about group of fanatical terrorists escaping their planned execution in 2077 by traveling back in time to 2012, they inadvertently take City Protective Services officer Kiera Cameron with them. Becoming trapped in a more “primitive” past, Kiera infiltrates the local police department to try to track down the terrorists before they change the course of history.

CONTINUUM stars Rachel Nichols (Alias, Criminal Minds, G.I. Joe) as Kiera, Victor Webster (Castle, Melrose Place) as detective Carlos Fonnegra – who Kiera allies with – and Erik Knudsen (Jericho, Scream 4) as Alec Sadler, the teenaged tech genius who could be Kiera’s key to saving the future.

“When Simon Barry and I were conceiving the approach to the score to CONTINUUM, we agreed that the musical thread that anchored the score should be the same thing that anchors the show itself, Kiera.” described Danna. “Kiera’s theme needed to be something that could be strong and self-assured, but also have aspects to it that could be vulnerable and even wistful for the past (future!) she has left behind.”

I think a soundtrack can really make or break a TV show or movie. That’s a lot to lay on a composer’s shoulders, but Continuum Season One Original Television Soundtrack composer Jeff Danna is off the hook, because not only is the show awesome, but his amazing soundtrack enhances each episode.

It was nice as I listened to recall the moments of the first season that I loved so much. You can read how each track is named for specific moments in the show in the track list below. I found myself listening to it nonchalantly and then a particular moment in the music would strike me and I’d rush to see what event was listed.

After listening to it a few times I got the itch to compare tracks that featured similar characters or themes. Like all the Kagame (played by Tony Amendola) songs have these dueling violins that give the tracks a sort of old world feel that I get from Kagame’s character, while all the Kiera tacks seem to have some sort of mysterious futuristic sound that comes from an instrument that I can’t place. All except for track 12, “Kiera Meets Alec” which manages to sound lost and hopeful all at the same time.

My favorite track is the combination of track 17 “A Working Time Machine” which mixes synthesized futuristic sounds with violins really soothingly and blends right into track 18 “The Game Simulation” where the bottom completely falls out of the song and the tempo just bursts into something that would inspire a runner.

Here is the track list:

1 Kagames Manifesto 2:26
2 Kiera at the ATM 1:37
3 Rooftop Battle 2:02
4 Kagames Vision of the City 2:06
5 Kiera Gets Her Tech 1:45
6 Kiera Remembers the Future 2:17
7 The Year 2012 3:52
8 The Linnear Collider 1:56
9 LIBER8 2:30
10 Good News 2077 2:26
11 The Protector 1:37
12 Kiera Meets Alec 1:20
13 I Don’t Have Dreams 2:01
14 Under the Bridge 2:54
15 Carlos Lied 2:03
16 A View to the Past 3:25
17 A Working Time Machine 2:33
18 The Game Simulation 1:34
19 All About the Money 2:53

It’s not a secret that I love the show, I really do, and it’s wonderful to close your eyes and listen to the Continuum Season One Original Television Soundtrack and have it take you away not necessarily the show itself, but the feeling behind the show. There is such a great distinction between things that are meant to feel futuristic and things that are meant to feel present and it really comes through this music.

I give Continuum Season One Original Television Soundtrack Five Out of Five Stars.



Continuum (Original Television Soundtrack) (MP3 Music)

New From: $9.49 USD In Stock
Used from: Out of Stock

Jess Orso
Written by Jess Orso

Jess is the Managing Editor and Southern Correspondent for